Today In History…

“That on the first day of January, in the year of our Lord one thousand eight hundred and sixty-three, all persons held as slaves within any State or designated part of a State, the people whereof shall then be in rebellion against the United States, shall be then, thenceforward, and forever free; and the Executive Government of the United States, including the military and naval authority thereof, will recognize and maintain the freedom of such persons, and will do no act or acts to repress such persons, or any of them, in any efforts they may make for their actual freedom.”

(1862)

Published in: on September 22, 2008 at 8:56 am  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://localcrank.wordpress.com/2008/09/22/today-in-history-8/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I can’t remember: did you ever read “Team of Rivals” by Doris Kearns-Goodwin? Wonderful book. Probably my favorite work of political history to date. Lincoln fully deserves the mantle of “greatest… president… EVER.”

  2. The blog looks good. I got unsolicited advice that I should move our blog over to WP, but it sure does seem like a lot of work given how much work we’ve done on the look and format of our blog. But you seem to have made the transition quite nicely.

    Also to Eric above, I heard Kearns-Goodwin on NPR (Terri Gross I think) talking about that book, and it was truly fascinating. It’s definitely on my list of must reads now.

  3. Yeah, I like it and I was able to import all my old posts from Blogger by pushing one button. Unfortunately, I pushed it twice and duplicated most of them, but hey! I heard Kearns-Goodwin on NPR as well and that book is definately on my list, too.

  4. You guys need to bump “Team of Rivals” to the top of your reading lists. Seriously. I literally wept at the end of it, it was so powerful and moving. There is a scene with Seward near the end that I often retell to friends, and every time I do it brings tears to my eyes.

  5. In related reading-list news, Lincoln, by Gore Vidal, is the best historical fiction I’ve ever read.


Leave a Reply

